Harry Potter-Spell Book Tag

Seen on many YouTube channels and now here on my blog:
The “Harry Potter-Spell Book Tag”

I thought that this is a good way to introduce myself and share some of my favourites.

The book tag consists of a Harry Potter Spell (e.g. Expecto Patronum) and then a subtitle that explains what the book is (e.g. A childhood book connected to good memories)

 

Expecto Patronum

A childhood book connected to good memories

I have always been a reader, even in my very early years. The first book that really got me glued to the pages and craving more was: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Sorcerer’s Stone) by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter made me into the bookworm that I am today. I remember waiting for the new books to be published and decorating my room to make it look like the Gryffindor common room. (It was later revealed that I am a Ravenclaw, but at that time my idol was Hermione.)

 

Expelliarmus
A book that took you by surprise

The Lunar Chronicles: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I really did not expect to like this book as much as I did. I was hesitant because it was clearly based off Cinderella and in the past I did not enjoy fairy-tale retelling. The combination of sci-fi elements and dystopia with a hint of romance was the last thing I expected to find. In the end, Cinder was a pleasant surprise and a great start to the series.

 

Prior Incantato
The last book you read

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I had it lying on my shelf for a long time and never really considered picking it up. One day I took it with me on a trip and just read it in one sitting. (For more thoughts on Divergent, click here)

 

Alohamora
A book that introduced you to a genre you had not considered before

Doctor Who: The 11th Doctor: After Life

I never considered reading comic books, but that completely changed when I read this comic book. I really appreciated the art and I was craving for more adventures with the 11th Doctor since his regeneration in 2014. I definitely plan on reading more comic books and I’ve already started with Deadpool/Spiderman crossovers.

 

Riddikulus
A funny book you’ve read

Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I usually don’t read books that are funny. I love Young-Adult books, fantasy and sci-fi. Those are usually more dramatic and heart-breaking than funny, but this book made me smirk and giggle – trust me I got some weird looks while reading this on the train. Percy’s and especially Annabeth’s funny and witty nature plus a lot of sass were so intriguing.

 

Sonorus
A book you think everybody should know about

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

The Throne of Glass series is currently one of my favourite. It does not rank above Harry Potter, but I think that no book ever will. Throne of Glass has it all: sass, action, fantasy and romance. It is a prime example of a good Young-Adult fantasy book and everyone should read it or at least know about it.

 

Obliviate
A book or spoiler you would like to forget having read

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

There is and always will be a huge controversy around the Twilight series. Personally, I am not a fan of it. But by far the most boring and annoying one was New Moon. The main character, Bella Swan, is so dependent on her boyfriend and generally can’t live without him. She treats her father and friends not the way that they deserve to be treated. I would like to forget this book. If you like it, then that is perfectly alright. I’m not here to judge or offend.

 

Imperio
A book you had to read for school

Me before You by Jojo Moyes

I could list a lot of classic novels and authors including Shakespeare, Kafka,  et cetera, but so could everyone else. In 10th grade my teacher decided that we should read a ‘proper’ book in class and her choice was this book. I really liked it back then and I think that reading more of those books in class could encourage young people to read.

 

Crucio
A book that was painful to read

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

It took me five years to read this book. Five years! I had to put it down again and again, because I just couldn’t emerse or relate to any of the characters. The story line was good, but Greek mythology in YA books is something I relate to Rick Riordan. Furthermore I didn’t like the writing style.

 

Avada Kedavra
A book that could kill

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

I read this book a couple of years ago while on a family vacation. I cried so much during the final scenes. The Book Thief took me on an emotional journey and in the end it killed me, because I had to say goodbye to characters I loved. The writing is brilliant and enhanced the story beautifully.

Honourable mentions for this spell are: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

