The Netflix Book Tag

Damn, thenovelarchive, back at it again with a book tag.
(Excuse my reuse of old memes)

The Netflix book tag lists categories that appear on Netflix and then adds a book fitting to it. I thought, this would be a fun thing to do, since we know, that a lot of us love Netflix and binge watching. (Please tell me that I’m not alone)

1. Recently watched
The last book you finished reading Insurgent by Veronica Roth was a book I had to push myself to read. I don’t really enjoy the series. Both of the main characters annoy me. I feel like Tris has a hero complex. 

2. Top Picks
A book/books that have been recommended to you based on books you have previously read
Because my heart beats for fantasy, my local bookdealer recommended Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard to me. I read it and I must say, I really enjoyed it. At the moment I’m putting reading its sequel off, because I have a lot to do, but I will definitely read it!

3. Recently Added
The last book you bought
I bought two books at the same time, so I’m just going to list them both. (I can’t control myself at bookstores. No, seriously, it’s a problem. I bought Truthwitch at first because I saw great review on it on goodreads. The other book I bought is the 20th anniversary copy of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling. They featured a special edition of the cover and extra content for each of the houses. I’m a Ravenclaw, so I naturally got the blue edition. (I now have five copies of that book. I really do have a probelm)

4. Popular on Netflix
Books that everyone knows about (2 you’ve read and 2 you have no interest in reading)
Finally I have read the Divergent series by Veronica Roth – at least the first two books, so I will nominate them for the two books that everyone knows about and I have read. The books I have no interest in reading at the moment are the rest of the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Colins. I have read the first book and I didn’t like it. Please take no offense, but something just didn’t fit for me. I haven’t seen any of the movies either, but I know mayor spoilers which kind of discouraged me to read them.

5. Comedies
A funny book
I could basically list any book by Rick Riordan. This man is hilarious and witty in every way. Even his dedication page is a winner. For example: “To my wonderful readers: Sorry about that last cliff-hanger. Well, no, not really. HAHAHAHA. But seriously, I love you guys.”

6. Dramas
A character who is a drama queen/king
In every series there is a drama queen, but the biggest drama queen to ever drama is Sirius Black form the Harry Potter series. Make a normal entrance? No. Sneak into the castle and destroy god son’s bedroom. Explain things normally? NO! “Only one must die tonight”, while pointing wand at scared godson.

7. Animated
A book with cartoons on the cover
Well the cartoons are not on the outside of the cover, but mainly on the inside. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell has beautiful art on the inside of the cover page and even a short comic on the last page.

8. Watch It Again
A book/book series that you want to re-read
I have re-read some books so they are of course out of question. I sometimes re-read books annually. *Hem, Hem, Harry Potter, Hem , Hem* Sorry , something got stuck in my throat. I would really like to re-read The Perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbobsky. We read it in school when I was 13 and I think I would understand a lot more of the plot and the issues the characters a dealing with. I liked it back then, but I think I would hold it dear, if I re-read it today.

9. Documentaries
A non-fiction book you’d recommend to everyone
I rarely read non-fiction books, but I loved is Eleanor & Park by an author I already listed, Rainbow Rowell. This book left me in tears, because while being a love story, it addressed so many topics concerning daily struggle. To this day it is one of my favourite books even though I often stay away from romances in books, because they tend to bore me.

10. Action and Adventure
An action packed book
Fantasy consists mostly on building worlds and quests what always brings action. I could name a couple of books, but none are primarily action focused. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien though is very action packed, but more focused on adventure in the beginning. You have to read it, or you shall not pass your certificate for being a true reader. Ok, that was a stupid joke. I promise to never bring it up again.

11. New Releases
A book that just came out or will be coming out soon that you can’t wait to read
I can’t wait for Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas. This book belongs to the Throne of Glass universe and is set during the events of Empire of Storm, but follows the story of Chaol Westfall. While he is definitely not my favourite character, I am excited for his story. I will get my hands on any Throne of Glass book.
Tell me about any books in the comments or answer the questions yourself down below!

 

Leave a Reply

